Lessons Learnt From a Failed Interview

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

A failed interview or a needed inter-view

An exam different from the exams held on paper, just to test who you are and what you can be. Yes, it's an interview. I got a chance to sit for my first technical interview during the concluding semester of my pre-final year of graduation in Computer Science. Being a passionate writer, for quite a few years and having an enough exposure in public speaking was a bonus to my speaking abilities. Hosting some live shows and a sound command over my voice articulation were icing on the cake. Being a focused Data Structures and Algorithms learner, and a good problem solver was the backbone of my skeleton. A logical thinker with good aptitude boosts my confidence. I had a sound knowledge of my resume. I had everything a student needs to step out from the daily hustles and step into the corporate world. But, it was just one thing that would lead the path towards all future paths, the interview. Let's dig into the journey of my interview.

Timeline:

One day before the interview - I got a call and mail from the recruiter that I have made it into the interview round which will be held next day. The excitement got beyond the moon. I told my parents that tomorrow I'll be giving an interview, and, hopefully, will be getting the first job of my life. I know I was sounding childish. I was just 20 and it's okay to sound like that.

One night before the interview - The excitement didn't let me sleep. I was roaming in my room, and, that's when nervousness starts.

One hour before the interview - The tension got its peak, and I was staring at my laptop as if I have seen something arousing for the first time. But, with a blank screen.

Ten minutes before the interview - I joined the link early as if I were to get more marks. I know I was a noob.

Zero seconds to the interview - It was the first time someone has let me in where I wanted to be for so long.

The interview got started.

Verdict - I failed, how?

Let's see.

Interview.

Interviewer - Hello Anmol, Good evening. How are you?

Anmol - Hello sir, Good evening. I am good. What about you?

Interviewer - I am doing good. Okay, so, let's begin with your introduction.

Anmol - Sure sir. My name is Anmol Gupta and, and, and(No my grammar hasn't died, that was me in the interview). I started fumbling in the second line of my introduction. Some of you won't believe it, I say don't. Somehow, I completed the worst possible introduction of myself in the best possible place.

Interviewer - Asked some basic subject questions.

Anmol - Answered, I was good with my concepts.

Interviewer - Moved on to some problems.

Anmol - Took some time but, tried my best.

I don't know the exact problems, but, I remember that I was able to solve two problems fully and one failing on certain test cases I didn't even test.

Result - The company ghosted me, or I look like an actual ghost.

Lessons learnt from the interview:

  1. Don't be over-confident: It kills you. I was highly overconfident and wasn't able to make out the best of the opportunity I could have.

  2. Listen to the interviewer: You are a good speaker, but, that's not what an interviewer wants. You should be a good listener.

  3. Manage time: You shouldn't waste a lot of time introducing yourself or solving a single problem. If you have an enough practice, then the time frame is enough to complete nuclear fission in that time.

  4. It's okay to be nervous: Everyone gets nervous before an interview, you are no different. If not, then, it's a different thing.

  5. Go through past experiences: A mistake I made was, that, I didn't go through the previous interview experiences only to regret that a few questions were exactly the same that were asked before.

  6. Be patient: Answer only when there's a need to answer. Don't answer in a hurry as, it will just welcome the space for another question, that you mightn't be able to recall.

  7. Learn from your mistakes: I made a quote:- "Not everyone fails in life, but, everyone fails atleast once in an interview." It does not apply to you only if you're from some different species. So, learn from the mistakes you did and try to avoid them in future interviews.

  8. Chill: Whatever be the outcome, you should not make a hype. It's just an interview. If not today, then maybe tomorrow.

After this much needed inter-view, I just had a single thought that is - maybe next time.